Archive for April, 2016

india at miss world

The first Miss World was held in 1951 at London, Greater London, UK and India did not send a representative then.

The first time India sent a representative was in 1959 in Fleur Ezekiel who failed to place. Since then India has almost always sent a representative except in the years 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1973 and 1989.

Between 1951 and 2015, there have been 65 Miss World contests and India has sent a total of 51 representatives out of which she has 23 placements – a strike rate of 45%.

Out of the 23 placements, India has 10 finalists – in the years 1966, 1972, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2012. Out of these 10 finalists, India has 5 winners – in the years 1966, 1994, 1997, 1999 and 2000.

Below is a brief of the 10 Indian finalists (including the 5 winners) at Miss World.

reita faria

reita faria, miss india world 1966, was the winner that year!


malathi basappa (extreme left), miss india world 1972, finished 5th! the winner was from australia!


aishwarya rai, miss india world 1994, was the winner that year!


rani jeyraj (left), miss india world 1996, finished 4th! the winner was from greece!


diana hayden, miss india world 1997, was the winner that year!


yukta mookhey, miss india world 1999, was the winner that year!


priyanka chopra, miss india world 2000, was the winner that year!


ami vashi, miss india world 2003, finished 4th! the winner was from ireland!


parvathy omanakuttan, miss india world 2009, finished 2nd! the winner was from russia!


vanya mishra, miss india world 2012, finished 7th! the winner was from china!


fleur ezekiel, miss india world 1959! she was the first indian to participate in miss world contest and did not place!